Curl Friends

” Pick up the can of Afro sheen and do the Afro dance.” – Les Nubians

Well hello my fellow queens and kings. It’s been a while since I’ve written a blog post. It’s been a crazy week as it’s spring break and I’m currently battling a 103 degree fever. However, that isn’t going to stop me from informing my curl friends on this current topic: curl patterns.

African American hair has a unique texture that often times needs special care and styling needs. The Texture Typing System details the multiple ways of wavy, curly and coily hair. You don’t necessarily have to know your exact curl pattern, however, when you do it allows you to figure out which hair products work best for your kinky curly hair. The best way to figure out your curl pattern is after you washed your hair and it dries with no product in it.IMG_3331

Type 3 hair is curly hair. Most of the time if you pull type 3 hair you will notice it forms an “S” shape.  This hair type is full bodied, climate dependent, and very damage prone. Lack of proper care will make dull curls. Type 4 hair is kinky curly. This tightly coiled hair is fine, fragile and delicate. You will notice that each strand usually has a zig zag pattern. Kinky hair is the driest hair type, thus it is more prone to breakage and requires a gentle touch. Kinky curly hair grows at the same rate as other texture, however, if not treated properly it breaks easily.

What inspired me to write about this is this awesome poem that I  came across:

 

In My Nappy Hair

In my nappy hair
exists exotic energy
that has been here for centuries
strengthening me continuously for infinity
allowing me to muster the ability
to see, act and think clearly.

In my nappy hair
The soul of Afrika lives
Which gives
my spirit culture and foundation
Enlightens me on the essence of creation
Brings me education and elevation
of the truth of my beloved Nubian nation

In my nappy hair are Afrikan songs
that make me STRONG
that tells me who I am and where I belong.

In my nappy hair
There is positivity in a large capacity
traveling at high velocities
possessing infinite possibilities
of peace, progression and prosperity.

In my nappy hair is powerfully
refined protein
packed with profound principle
which makes me an invincible King.

In my nappy hair
Knowledge, wisdom and insight
have been twisted together to loc
forming forces of passion and fire

My nappy hair
is natural
is magical
is spiritual
is original
is ESSENTIAL

In my nappy hair
I’ve found FREEDOM and HAPPINESS.

– UniverSoul

I could read this poem over and over again and it will forever make me feel good about myself and my natural hair. African American women should cherish their afrocentric hair and know that their hair doesn’t define them.

Your soul sista,

Julia

 

Leave a Reply

